MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE GRANDE PRAIRIE PUBLIC SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON **AUGUST 20, 2024**

Ola Oladele, Associate Superintendent Business Services, called the meeting to order at 5:09 p.m.

PRESENT:

Trustees Ray Buziak, Chris Johnston, Donna Koch, Rob Martin, Joan Nellis, Andre Ouellette, Superintendent Alexander (Sandy) McDonald, Deputy Superintendent James Robinson, Associate Superintendent Business Services Ola Oladele, Executive Assistant Business Services SheraLea Crichton (recorder) and Secretary to the Board Sandy Fredland (minutes).

ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR THE 2024 – 2025 TERM:

Ola Oladele called for nominations for Chair of the Board of Trustees for the 2024 - 2025 term.

Rob Martin nominated Joan Nellis for the position of Chair of the Board for the 2024 – 2025 term. Joan Nellis accepted the nomination.

Ola Oladele called a second time for nominations for Chair of the Board.

Ola Oladele called a third time for nominations for Chair of the Board.

There being no further nominations, nominations ceased, and Ola Oladele declared Joan Nellis Chair of the Board for the 2024 – 2024 term by acclamation.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR FOR THE 2024 - 2025 TERM:

Joan Nellis assumed the Chair and called for nominations of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees for the 2024 – 2025 term.

Andre Ouellette nominated Donna Koch for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2024 – 2025 term. Donna Koch accepted the nomination.

Joan Nellis called a second time for nominations of Vice-Chair of the Board.

There being no further nominations, nominated ceased, and Joan Nellis declared Donna Koch as Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2024 – 2025 term by acclamation.

Joan Nellis thanked Trustee Ouellette for three years of service to the Board as Vice Chair.

TIME AND PLACE OF REGULAR AND SPECIAL MEETINGS:

Regular Board Meetings for the 2024 - 2025 School Year will be held at Central Office in the Board Room or virtually at 6:00 p.m. with presentations to begin at approximately 6:10 p.m. on the following dates:

August 20; September 10; September 24; October 8; October 22; November 12, November 26; December 10; January 14; January 28; February 11; February 25; March 11; March 25; April 22; May 13; May 27; June 10.

MOTION: Rob Martin moved acceptance of the 2024 – 2025 meeting schedule as presented.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15651

BOARD STANDING COMMITTEE STRUCTURE 2024 - 2025:

Board Policy 8		
Committee	Board Representative	Board Representative
Negotiations Committee (2)	Rob Martin	Joan Nellis
Audit Committee (3 including Chair and Vice Chair)	Joan Nellis Andre Ouellette	Donna Koch
Teacher/Trustee Liaison Committee (2)	Chris Johnston	Rob Martin
Non-Instructional Support Staff (2)	Ray Buziak	Donna Koch
Professional Development Committee (1) Suggested 2-year term (2 nd year)	Andre Ouellette	Х
Board Policy Review Committee (3) – Vice Chair as Chair	Donna Koch Ray Buziak	Chris Johnston
Advocacy and Engagement Committee (3)	Joan Nellis Rob Martin	Donna Koch
Student Advisory Committee (3)	Donna Koch Andre Ouellette	Rob Martin
Board Evaluation Committee (3)	Chris Johnston Ray Buziak	Donna Koch

BOARD AD HOC COMMITTEE STRUCTURE 2024 – 2025:

Board Policy 8			
Committee	Board Representative	Board Representative	
Continuous Improvement Index (2)	Chris Johnston	Joan Nellis	
Grande Prairie Christian School (Chair/Vice Chair)	Joan Nellis	Donna Koch	
Facilities Naming Committee (2 Trustees)	Andre Ouellette	Donna Koch	
Value Scoping and Capital Planning (2 Trustees)	Rob Martin	Andre Ouellette	

BOARD REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL ORGANIZATIONS 2024 – 2025:

Board Policy 9			
Organization	Board Delegate	Board Delegate	
Alberta School Boards' Association Zone 1 Representative (Chair & 1 Trustee)	Ray Buziak	Joan Nellis	
Public School Boards' Association of Alberta Representative (1 & Alternate)	Donna Koch	Rob Martin (alternate)	
Community Knowledge Campus Steering Committee (CKC) (2)	Leave Blank	Leave Blank	

MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE GRANDE PRAIRIE PUBLIC SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON **AUGUST 20**, **2024**

Standing Committee on Recreational & Educational Services (SCORES) (Chair)	Joan Nellis	X
GPPSD Education Foundation Committee (1)	Rob Martin	X
Teacher's Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA) • Instructional	Joan Nellis	Rob Martin as alternate

MOTION: Donna Koch moved that Rob Martin serve as alternate representative for Joan Nellis for the Teacher/Employee Bargaining Association (TEBA) as required.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15652

GPPSD SCHOOL COUNCIL/ TRUSTEE LIAISONS 2024 – 2025:

Board Policy 9		
School		
Alexander Forbes School	Joan Nellis	
Aspen Grove School	Andre Ouellette	
Avondale School	Andre Ouellette	
Charles Spencer	Donna Koch	
Composite High School	Chris Johnston	
Crystal Park School	Rob Martin	
Derek Taylor Public School	Chris Johnston	
École Montrose	Ray Buziak	
Grande Prairie Christian School	Donna Koch	
Hillside Community School	Rob Martin	
Isabel Campbell Public School	Chris Johnston	
I.V. Macklin School	Andre Ouellette	
Maude Clifford Public School	Rob Martin	
Parkside Montessori	Joan Nellis	
Riverstone Public School	Donna Koch	
Roy Bickell Public School	Ray Buziak	
Swanavon School	Ray Buziak	

MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE GRANDE PRAIRIE PUBLIC SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON **AUGUST 20, 2024**

TRUSTEE COMPENSATION RATES:

COMPENSATION RATES: Administration presented a comparable sample of Trustee annual honorariums of urban or local school divisions in Alberta, as well as the recent three-year history of the GPPSD honorarium annual rates. Following discussion, the Board agreed on the following Trustee Compensation rates for the 2024 – 2025 school year:

Chair \$ 25,194.36/year Vice-Chair \$ 21,646.32 /year Trustee \$ 19,560.72 /year

MOTION: Chris Johnston moved that the Trustee Compensation rates be adopted for the 2024 – 2025 school year as presented.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15652

Current Per Diem Rate:

\$200 for meetings held inside or outside the City of Grande Prairie, greater than 3 hours including travel time and excluding Regular and Special Board meetings.

MOTION: Rob Martin moved that Trustees shall receive \$200.00 per diem for meetings or events held inside or outside the City of Grande Prairie longer than 3 hours, including travel time for out-of-town meetings only. This per diem excludes Regular and Special Board Meetings.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15653

APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS:

MOTION: Donna Koch moved that the firm Fletcher/Mudryk be appointed auditors of the Board Financial Operations for the 2023 – 2024 year.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15654

LEGAL SIGNING AUTHORITIES:

MOTION: Rob Martin moved that two of any of the following: Chair, Vice-Chair, Superintendent, or Secretary-Treasurer/Acting Secretary-Treasurer be designated as signing authorities.

UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED 15655

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 5:52 p.m.

Chair Secretary-Treasurer